News:

Monday is an awful way to spend 1/7th of your life. -Steven Wright

Main Menu

Rockhounding

Started by BroGary, June 18, 2012, 05:01:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BroGary

Hey all,

Haven't been online here in a while, but wanted to know if anyone is or was ever into rockhounding (collecting rocks and minerals).

I am relatively new to rockhounding specifically as a hobby, even though I always enjoyed checking out interesting rocks since I was a kid.

I am on a tight budget and have limited funds for hobby stuff, but I am thankful for and enjoy what I can afford, like a fairly inexpensive SW UV light for causing fluorescent minerals to glow !

Hobbies are fun, and we all need a little diversion from everyday chores once in a while, but I am trying to also make any hobby interests into opportunities for reaching new souls with the gospel, because finding others with simular hobby interests, (like at a hobby club for whatever hobby) can develop new friendships which can give new opportunities for sharing the gospel, so hobbies can be both fun and an outreach tool  :cool:

I have yet to find any rockhound clubs within any reasonable distance, but I'm still researching.

I have a few samples of fluorescent rocks that the company I bought from sends out with their SW UV lights, I have also found some interesting rocks that I think are a type of white quartz.

I also found 4 rocks that I believe could be meteorites, but I have to research it further.

So, any rockhounds on the forum, or do you have any friends or relatives who are or used to be rockhounds ?

Lynx

My father is a big rockhound.  He bids on ebay all the time, knows what he's bidding on, got the presses, grinders, etc in a little workshop out behind his house, etc.  If I give you his number, be sure to be on a phone with unlimited minutes before you start talking about rocks.  :P  He can talk about them for hours.
"Do you sing at church?"