News:

What happens if you get scared half to death twice? -Steven Wright

Main Menu

My New(est) Hobby...(lotsa pics, be warned)

Started by mini, May 26, 2009, 02:24:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mini

I have been meddling in the dark arts of guitars for several years, and still have a knowledge of about 0 on how to play.  Being the ADHD person that I am, my talents run short...LOL

I was telling a buddy (the revered bishop of Spiro, OK, and my identical twin in mentality and onerousness, James Stewart) one day my secret desire to restore or refinish a old electric guitar, and told him that if he ever ran across a cheap old electric that I wanted it.  Someday, I should post the picture of him with a drum on the top of his head...LOL  I'm sending him the link to this post.  He will kill me for comparing our mentality.  Anyways, I told him my price range (no more than $50) and said "Sic' em..."

He called me later and said he found me a guitar.  He warned me and said it was uglier than sin warmed over.  After describing it to me over the phone and sending me a blurry picture, I told him to get it for me and we would go from there.

Heres what I got:

A Harmony Rocket, single gold foil DeArmond pickup.

A close up of the "custom" sunburst paintjob someone did...

Back...they did a "custom" sunburst on here too...

Front of headstock...

Back of headstock...

Moments before I start disassembley...

Neck is off....

Starting to strip the old paint off...

Paint is coming off quickly!

Beautiful blonde wood is showing! :grin:

Showing how easy the paint is coming off.  On a side note, I dropped a bit of the paint I scraped on my toe and dun had a glory hallelujah fit!  :ugly:  It burned!

Chelleebelle photo sniped me...LOL

More wood showing.

In the sun, but not totally clean.  The wood hid under the old paint is amazing.  Simple, but pretty.

Back 99% clean:

Front half clean...

More pics as I dive deeper into this project.

-mini