News:

:teeth: To crack the Top 10 posters, you must have over 11,000 posts. :teeth:

Main Menu

The Middle Wife ,,,,,,, read with caution,,, you might need to set down ,

Started by faith2u35, June 24, 2008, 07:52:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

faith2u35

I've been teaching now for about fifteen years.  I have two children myself, but the best birth story I know is the one I saw in my own second-grade classroom, a few years back.  When I was a kid, I loved show-and-tell.  So I always have a few sessions with my students.  It helps them get over shyness and usually, show-and-tell is pretty tame.  Kids bring in pet turtles, model airplanes, pictures of fish they catch, stuff like that.  And I never, ever place any boundaries or limitations on them.  If they want to lug it in to school and talk about it, they're welcome.

Well, one day a little girl, Erica, a very bright, very outgoing child, took her turn and waddled up to the front of the class with a pillow stuffed under her sweater.  She held up a snapshot of an infant.  'This is Luke, my baby brother, and I'm going to tell you about his birthday.'  'First, Mum and Dad made him as a symbol of their love, and then Dad put a seed in my Mum's stomach, and Luke grew in there.  He ate for nine months through an umbrella cord.'  She was standing there with her hands on the pillow, and I was trying not to laugh and was wishing that I had my camcorder with me.  The kids are watching her in amazement.

'Then, about two Saturdays ago, my Mum started saying and going, 'Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh!'  Erica put a hand behind her back and groaned.  She walked around the house for, like an hour, saying 'Oh, oh, oh!'  Now this kid is doing a hysterical duck walk and groaning.  'My Dad called the middle wife.  She delivers babies, but she doesn't have a sign on the car like the Domino's man.  They got my Mum to lie down in bed like this.'  Then Erica laid down with her back against the wall.